CoPEH-Canada structure and team

CoPEH-Canada is a dynamic group of researchers and practionners. Members of the CoPEH-Canada core team come from eight universities and organizations across Canada, in various fields. Graduate students and young professionals, many of whom have taken the CoPEH-Canada field school or workshop, form a particularly dynamic sub-group, Emerging Scholars and Professionals (ESaP).

Memorandum of Understanding for the creation of a consortium for the CoPEH-Canada

In 2016, the authorities of six Canadian universities (Dalla Lana School of Public Health (University of Toronto), Simon Fraser University, Université de Moncton, Université du Québec à Montréal, University of Northern British Colombia and York University) signed a MOU for the creation of a consortium linked to the CoPEH-Canada. Since, two universities have joined: l'Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS) and Guelph University. This MOU was resigned in 2021. If you think that your institution would be interested in joining the MOU please This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.Our development is progressive, through the addition of ever more colleagues, partners and collaborators as time goes on. CoPEH-Canada works to support regional groups in Canada and also collaborates with Latin American, African and Asian partners. 

  • Read our five-year (2016-2020) report here

Our core group members coordinate the pan-Canadian community of practice. The principal functions of this coordinating group are to organize the CoPEH-Canada workshops and annual ecohealth field school, make decisions on the general management of the community, plan annual national activities, provide support to members and stimulate participation. Reactions to national-level interests and topics are responded to at this level (see our news and twitter feeds). 

The director of programmes is responsible for ensuring the maintenance of basic CoPEH-Canada programmes and exploring opportunities in line with priorities established by consortium members.

Director of Programmes

Jena Webb sq

Jena Webb
Centre de recherche interdisciplinaire sur le bien-être, la santé, la société et l'environnement (CINBIOSE)
Université du Québec à Montréal


Founding co-leads 

Margot Parkes 2021 sq Johanne Saint Charles sq

Margot Parkes 
Professor, School of Health Sciences, University of Northern British Columbia.


Johanne Saint-Charles
Professor, Director Institut Santé et société, Département de communication sociale et publique
Université du Québec à Montréal




Martin Bunch sq maya gislason sq Jane Parmley sq

Martin Bunch
Professor, Faculty of Environmental and Urban Change
York University

Maya Gislason
Associate Professor, Health Sciences
Simon Fraser University

Jane Parmley
Associate Professor, Ontario Veterinary College
Guelph University 

Blake Poland sq Celine Surette sq Cathy Vaillancourt sq
Blake Poland
Associate Professor, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
University of Toronto
Céline Surette
Director and Professor, Département de chimie et de biochimie
Université de Moncton 
Cathy Vaillancourt
Professor, Institut Armand Frappier

In Memoriam

Bruce Hunter, a founding member of CoPEH-Canada, passed away suddenly on October 19th 2011. His insights, calm, wisdom and dedication to the “kids” are sorely missed by us all. He has left his mark on each of us individually and on CoPEH-Canada as a whole.

Bruce Hunter